You late, I’m already internationable…


The Roots – 75 Bars (Black’s Reconstruction) via Rising Down

Because being an MC is such a uniquely selfish position to be in. You’re the face, you’re the voice, you’re the energy, you’re the ideas. Once you’re out there, you’re out there, forever. [Deep, I know. :)] Which is why the other day, an argument about top 5 active MCs came around with a circle of my friends, and by active the stipulations were as follows: released an album in the past year, was on tour and either came to Toronto on said tour or promo visit, or is going to BEFORE June of this year. What can I say, we’re selfish as well.

And of course, I proudly debuted Black Thought as my number five pick. People have written things all across the spectrum, from jockin’ to throwing darts, about The Roots, so reiterating what they say would be an exercise in futility. But what bothered me the most is that my number five pick was met with such hostility within my cypher, thoughts of getting me a straight jacket hostility. Proceed to me cueing up this video, Black Thought lyrically demolishes that song that was previously playing inside your head, reminds you that his dominance in this game can be displayed light switch quick. Good look from Rik for the visuals(Fine, I’m subscribing to the channel, you win.), and ?uest always makes sure the track knocks properly. I can’t wait for the concert on the 30th, I’m a little bit disappointed because this time Hub won’t be with them, but they’re the greatest live hip-hop act ever so I know they’ll keep it moving. Sometimes it feels good when hip-hop is done right, and in this case, spine-tingling.

2 Responses to “You late, I’m already internationable…”

  1. reythehussein Says:

    I have a lot of respect for The Roots even tho’ I’m not familiar with their catalogue.

    But! Speaking of live acts: Did I tell you I’m seeing Kanye West at MSG on May 13th?

    I shall throw the rocafella diamond up and rock e-bay’d venetian blinds sunglasses for both of us, mein freund.

  2. T DOT Says:

    My jealously cannot be expressed with words.

    I’m going to see him when he makes his way up here, but I bet the MSG show is going to be 10x better just off being in the building alone.

    Dude, seriously, before you die, GO SEE THE ROOTS LIVE. Even if you only repped “You Got Me”, I guarantee a great show.

Leave a Reply

