To guide me…

alicia-keys-movie.jpg
Alicia Keys – Prelude To A Kiss via As I Am

 

I hope everyone in my generation remembers these moments. Where genius happens, when things are right. When songwriting formats are forgotten, and artistry and creativity just flow through the speakers. I’m going to be proud to say I was up on Ms. Keys since her first album when my grandchildren are proudly touting her 17th. And then I’ll probably go on a “back in my day” rant about CDs, because they’ll probably never know what they are. I say that with all honesty in regards to the current music industry and all. Anyways, she already defiantly sold 742,000 in her first week. That’s closer to Kanye numbers. And she’s so adult contemporary when she needs to be, then she’ll bring out the reggae freight train and blast the American Music Awards out of the water. I was one of those 742,000, but wait, I don’t think you yanks down south include us in those sale figures and that’s a whole other issue that I’m going to get to in the next few weeks. As they say, aggressive content. Seriously though, does anyone realize that she’s the 80’s babies generational female stevie wonder? The new album doesn’t disappoint. So if you’re sick all of the DJ’s cutting promos, and ign’ant shit. Take a break and just listen, because sometimes, good music is just good music…

One Response to “To guide me…”

  1. reythehussein Says:

    You left out, “Get my fuckin’ pool in the back!”.

    Nah, props tho’.. You made a few good points. Alicia is definitely awesome. Sometimes you need more mellow stuff. Takes you to a good place, ya know?

    Good shit.

    –Rey

Leave a Reply

